Also known as traffic school in many states, defensive driving courses are designed to improve your driving skills. Besides getting a quick revision of the state traffic laws, you will learn about many aspects, such as crash prevention techniques, impact of psychological factors while driving, emergency care, importance of safety equipment and noticing the signs of mishaps. Basically, you will know what it takes to be a better and more responsible driver. Even when someone else is at fault, you will have an idea of what is to be done to reduce the impact of the collision.
Below are some of the important aspects worth knowing about defensive driving courses.
Besides the obvious benefit of being a better driver, you have many other advantages after completing the defensive driving course. Firstly, if you have a violation ticket and want to reduce the points on your license, the course might come handy. While you still need to pay for the ticket, the court will have the discretion to reduce the penalty. Many providers offer auto insurance premium discounts to customers who complete a defensive driving course. In short, the insurance company realizes that you are a safe driver now, and therefore, in the long run, they don’t have to pay for damages and accidents. The discounts can be as high in some cases, especially when the driver has decent driving record.
If you don’t want to go for a traditional classroom course, you can check the state laws to know if online courses are permitted. In states like Texas, you can enroll with an online defensive driving school and can complete the course at your own pace. In rare cases, your options can be limited by the court’s order. For certain violations, classroom classes are often made mandatory. Nevertheless, online courses are still viable for most people. The cost of the course, however, can vary from provider to provider.
You cannot take up a defensive driving course as many times as you want. The limits vary by state in this case too. In California, the window is 18 months, while in Texas, the same is 12 months. Some states may have specific courses for drivers who have been fined for DUI. The benefits of such courses don’t extend for non-moving violations, so keep that in mind.
Check online for course providers and find more through reviews now!